Fan vote for top 10 drivers puts Verstappen top

Jamie Woodhouse
Max Verstappen close up through the Halo. Abu Dhabi, December 2021.

Max Verstappen has continued his domination of the 2021 standings, this time with the fans voting him P1 for the season.

For the first time in his career Verstappen tasted title glory in 2021, beating his title rival Lewis Hamilton to the chequered flag in Abu Dhabi, thus crowning himself World Champion.

To go with that trophy, he also usurped Hamilton as number one on the team principals’ rankings for 2021, and now can add the same achievement from the perspective of the fans who placed the Dutchman atop their 10 best drivers for the season.

Throughout the season, judges for the Aramco F1 Power Rankings were scoring drivers for their race performances, where Verstappen reigned supreme with an average score of 8.9 out of 10 across the 2021 season.

And interestingly, the Fan Power Rankings also put Verstappen P1, making it a clean sweep for the Red Bull driver.

As expected, the fans also agreed with the judges to place Hamilton P2, after he narrowly missed out on a record eighth title to Verstappen in Abu Dhabi, a race Hamilton had controlled before the late Safety Car.

Carlos Sainz in action for Ferrari in Abu Dhabi. 2021 December

Below that pair though, opinions start to change a little. Ranked equal P5 in the charts by the judges was Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz, but the fan vote lifted him up to P3.

It was a solid first season with Ferrari for Sainz, who finished on the podium four times with a best result of P2 at the Monaco Grand Prix.

His haul of 164.5 points earned him P5 in the Drivers’ Championship, 5.5 points ahead of team-mate Charles Leclerc.

Sergio Perez and Pierre Gasly also gained thanks to the fan vote, while Lando Norris and Charles Leclerc were sent on a big slide down the order once the fans had given their input.

Interestingly, the judges and fans both selected the same top 10, but their respective orders for the drivers differed from there.


The fans’ top 10 in full (judges’ vote in brackets)

1. Max Verstappen, Red Bull (1)
2. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes (2)
3. Carlos Sainz, Ferrari (5=)
4. Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri (5=)
5. Lando Norris, McLaren (3)
6. Sergio Perez, Red Bull (10)
7. Fernando Alonso, Alpine (7)
8. George Russell, Williams (8)
9. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari (4)
10. Esteban Ocon, Alpine (9)