Brown eyes motorsport domination with McLaren

Jamie Woodhouse
Zak Brown

Zak Brown targets F1, IndyCar and Le Mans titles with McLaren in next 20 years.

McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown wants the company to win the F1 World Championship, Le Mans, the Indy500 and the IndyCar Championship within 20 years.

The McLaren Formula 1 team are without doubt back on the right path and currently find themselves P3 in the Constructors’ Championship with two podium finishes to their name in 2020.

But Brown isn’t satisfied with that alone, in the coming years he hopes to oversee the team’s rise back to the top of Formula 1 and claim the World Championship.

On top of that, he wants a ‘triple crown’ to celebrate with Le Mans victory, the Indy500 and the IndyCar Championship to go with the F1 gold.

“There’s not a team that has more fun than McLaren,” he told Sky Sports, as quoted by

“I love that the team is committed to Formula 1 and IndyCar, but I wouldn’t mind a project with sports racing cars. My dream would be to win the Formula 1 World Championship, the Indianapolis 500, the IndyCar Championship and the Le Mans 24 Hours. We can do all these things at McLaren, but it’s probably going to take 20 years.

“I would like to be the first team boss to win the triple crown and I have to blame Fernando Alonso for that.”

Get your hands on the official McLaren 2020 collection via the Formula 1 store

The question is, will Brown stick with McLaren for the 20-year period to try and achieve this?

Brown took over as Executive Director of McLaren Technology Group in November 2016, before becoming the Chief Executive Officer of McLaren Racing in April 2018.

With that promotion came overall responsibility for the business.

“I think you’ll see me at McLaren for decades. I worked with my old company JMI for 23 years,” he explained.

“I’ve been here for four years, and it seems to me yesterday. I’m 48 years old and I’m one of those guys who like Ecclestone, Dennis and Williams will work until they’re 70/80.”

In 2020 McLaren entered the IndyCar series on a full-time basis for the first time.

They joined forces with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and title sponsor Arrow to create the Arrow McLaren SP team.

Patricio O’Ward is currently the team’s best-performing driver in the standings, sitting P4, 132 points behind leader Scott Dixon.

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.