When is the Mexican GP? Start time, TV channel

Jo Harrison
Mexican Grand Prix

This article is about the 2018 Mexican Grand Prix. 

Lewis Hamilton is within touching distance of a fifth F1 world drivers’ title as the 2018 roadshow moves on to the Mexican Grand Prix this weekend.

The British ace failed to clinch another crown when finishing only third in the United States Grand Prix in Austin, as Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen kept him at bay.

But Hamilton still leads Sebastian Vettel by a yawning 70 points after the Ferrari ace endured another frustrating day, finishing fourth following a first-lap collision with Daniel Ricciardo.

Here is a guide to all you need to now about the upcoming weekend at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez – including details of how to watch the race on TV, the latest betting odds and what Hamilton needs to do to win the title.

What time does the Mexican Grand Prix start?

The start times for the Mexican Grand Prix are as follows:

Practice 1: Friday October 26, 1000 local time (1600 BST)

Practice 2: Friday October 26, 1400 local time (2000 BST)

Practice 3: Saturday October 27, 1000 local time (1600 BST)

Qualifying: Saturday October 27, 1300 local time (1900 GMT)

Race: Sunday October 28, 1310 local time (1910 GMT)

NB: Mexican daylight saving comes into effect on Sunday – the same as the UK – so will not affect the start time for UK TV viewers. But it will affect the start time for US viewers, who should note the race begins at 1510 ET.

Where does the Mexican Grand Prix take place?

The Mexico City circuit, otherwise known as the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez – named for the famous racing drivers Ricardo and Pedro Rodríguez, is located within the public park of the Magdalena Mixhuca Sports City in southeast Mexico City.

Revamped in recent years, Mexico City returns to the Formula 1 calendar in 2015, slotting in as the third last grand prix of the calendar.

The circuit, which was first used for a non-Championship race back in 1962, comprises 16 corners of which the final corner – the peraltada – is the fastest of all.

That leads onto a long start/finish straight that will make for a thrilling run to the first corner. The track is 4.309km long and Sunday’s race will be run over 71 laps.

Where can I watch the Mexican Grand Prix on TV?

Mexican Grand Prix weekend – including the race proper – will be screened live in the UK by pay-TV broadcaster Sky Sports on its dedicated Sky Sports F1 channel. Highlights will be aired by free-to-air broadcaster Channel 4.

Subscribers to F1’s own app can hear radio commentary on the race proper from the BBC and access live data around each session.

PlanetF1 will carry live timing and expert commentary on every session of the race weekend along with all the latest news from the track.

The Mexican Grand Prix will be shown live on TV by the following outlets in other key markets:

United States: ESPN (English), Univision (Spanish)

Canada: RDS (French), TSN (English)

Australia: Fox Sports

France: Canal +

Italy: Sky Sport F1

Germany: RTL

Spain: Movistar F1

What is the weather forecast for the Mexican Grand Prix?

Friday October 26: 22C, scattered thunderstorms.
Saturday October 27: 21C, rain.
Sunday October 28: 20C, chance of thunderstorms.

Which drivers have won the Mexican Grand Prix?

The Mexican Grand Prix was first held in 1962 with the likes of Jim Clark – the all-time leader with three successes – and Graham Hill among the early winners. After a hiatus between 1971 and 1985 the race resumed in 1986 and Alain Prost (twice), Nigel Mansell (twice) and Ayrton Senna joined the roll of honour. After Mansell’s second victory in 1992, the race wasn’t held again until 2015. Since then the winners have been:

2015 Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2016 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2017 Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

Track Lap Record: 1:16.788 by Nigel Mansell (Williams, 1991)

What are the odds for the Mexican Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen is now favourite to win the Mexican Grand Prix.

13/8 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

7/4 Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)

3/1 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

6/1 Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

28/1 Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

33/1 Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)

(Prices correct at 2030 BST on Saturday October 27)

What are the latest F1 Championship standings?

The leaders in the race for the driver and constructor titles are as follows:

Drivers’ Championship

Lewis Hamilton – 346 points

Sebastian Vettel – 276 points

Kimi Raikkonen – 221 points

Valtteri Bottas – 217 points

Max Verstappen – 191 points

Daniel Ricciardo – 146 points

Constructors’ Championship

Mercedes – 563 points

Ferrari – 497 points

Red Bull – 337 points

Full F1 championship standings are here

World title scenarios – what does Lewis Hamilton need to clinch?

    • If Sebastian Vettel wins in Mexico, Hamilton must finish seventh to clinch the title
    • If Sebastian Vettel is second or lower in Mexico, Hamilton will be crowned world champion