Only 17 drivers to start from the British GP grid

Date published: July 8 2018 - Editor

Only 17 of the 20 drivers will line up on the British GP grid with Brendon Hartley, Lance Stroll and Sergey Sirotkin starting from the pit lane.

With Hartley not taking part in qualifying, Toro Rosso and Honda opted to change a few engine parts ahead of Sunday’s grand prix.

As such the New Zealander is now onto his fifth ICE and fourth MGU-K for this season.

Meanwhile Williams, set to start last bar Hartley, decided to make changes to both drivers’ car after aerodynamic issues on Saturday.

Breaking parc ferme rules means they too will start from the pit lane.

Provisional grid
1 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2 Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
3 Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
4 Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
5 Max Verstappen, Red Bull
6 Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull
7 Kevin Magnussen, Haas
8 Romain Grosjean. Haas
9 Charles Leclerc, Sauber
10 Esteban Ocon, Force India
11 Nico Hulkenberg, Renault
12 Sergio Perez, Force India
13 Fernando Alonso, McLaren
14 Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso
15 Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
16 Carlos Sainz, Renault
17 Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren
18 Sergey Sirotkin, Williams *
19 Lance Stroll, Williams *
20 Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso *

* pit lane start