Provisional Brazilian Grand Prix grid

Provisional Brazilian Grand Prix grid

Provisional Brazilian Grand Prix grid

Just two changes to this Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix grid with Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon penalised for changing a turbocharger and a gearbox respectively.

Ricciardo’s penalty was courtesy of the Mexican Grand Prix marshals who damaged his RB14’s turbocharger when they sprayed foam into the exhaust when the car came to a smoky halt in Mexico City.

“The car was obviously smoking but they shot foam up the exhaust and as it solidified in the turbo, it terminated,” revealed Red Bull team boss Christian Horner.

He drops from sixth to 11th.

Meanwhile Ocon was handed a five-place penalty for a new gearbox.

Force India put a new one in his VJM after noticing anomalies in the data after Mexico. The team has billed it as a precautionary change.

Ocon will start Sunday’s race from P18 on the grid.

Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel have kept their respective front row starting spots after both avoided penalties for separate incidents during qualifying.

Provisional grid

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:07.281
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0.093s
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 0.16s
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0.175s
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0.497s
6 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1.015s
7 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1.211s
8 Romain Grosjean Haas 1.236s
9 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1.748s
10 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:08.659
11 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 0.499s *
12 Sergio Perez Force India 1:08.741
13 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:08.834
14 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:10.381
15 Carlos Sainz Renault 1:09.269
16 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:09.280
17 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:09.402
18 Esteban Ocon Force India 1:08.770 **
19 Lance Stroll Williams 1:09.441
20 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:09.601

* five-place turbocharger penalty
** five-place gearbox penalty