Qualy: Ricciardo ruins Verstappen’s pole position party

Qualy: Ricciardo ruins Verstappen's pole position party

Qualy: Ricciardo ruins Verstappen's pole position party

Daniel Ricciardo thwarted Max Verstappen in his attempt at becoming F1’s youngest ever pole-sitter as he took the coveted grid slot ahead of his Red Bull team-mate.

As the clock counted down to qualifying, Mercedes were still furiously working on Valtteri Bottas’ W09 which suffered a hydraulic failure in FP3. The Brackley team put a used power unit in his car, a Spec Three unit, saving Bottas from a possible penalty.

Bottas responded to the drama with a 1:15.580 in Q1, the fastest time of the session, while Romain Grosjean, Stoffel Vandoorne, Kevin Magnussen, Lance Stroll and Sergey Sirotkin dropped out.

Fernando Alonso made it into Q2 despite losing his first lap time in qualifying when he exceeded the track limits at Turn 11. Earlier in the day the drivers were warned against doing so by FIA race director Charlie Whiting.

His afternoon ended there, the Spaniard dropping out along with Esteban Ocon, Sergio Perez, Brendon Hartley and Pierre Gasly, who did not set a time in Q1 as he faces a grid penalty having taken a new engine.

Max Verstappen was quickest with a 1:15.640.

Red Bull, Mercedes and Ferrari all used the ultrasoft tyres for Q2 meaning those are the tyres they run at the start of Sunday’s Mexican GP.

Verstappen laid down a benchmark time of 1:14.785 in Q3 to sit on provisional pole after his first run.

That put him 0.185s up on Sebastian Vettel with Hamilton third.

Verstappen’s time looked set to stand as the one to beat but that’s exactly what Ricciardo did, a 1:14.759 for the Aussie – a new lap record.

Verstappen had to settle for second ahead of Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Bottas and Kimi Raikkonen.

Nico Hulkenberg, Carlos Sainz, Charles Leclerc and Marcus Ericsson completed the top ten.

1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:14.759
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0.026s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 0.135s
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0.211s
5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 0.401s
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0.571s
7 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1.068s
8 Carlos Sainz Renault 1.325s
9 Charles Leclerc Sauber 1.43s
10 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1.754s
11 Esteban Ocon Force India 1:16.844
12 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:16.871
13 Sergio Perez Force India 1:17.167
14 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso 1:17.184
15 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso no time
16 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:16.911
17 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:16.966
18 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:17.599
19 Lance Stroll Williams 1:17.689
20 Sergey Sirotkin Williams 1:17.886

Follow all the action from the Mexican Grand Prix via our live race centre