FIA ready to review red flag qualifying rule

Finley Crebolder
Charles Leclerc's stricken Ferrari after Monaco Grand Prix qualifying crash

Charles Leclerc's stricken Ferrari after Monaco Grand Prix qualifying crash

Michael Masi has stated that Formula 1 and the FIA are going to discuss whether a driver that crashes in qualifying should have his times deleted.

In IndyCar, the rule is that if a driver brings out a Red Flag during a qualifying session, their two best timed laps from it will be deleted.

In recent times, there have been more and more calls for such a rule to be introduced in F1 following the qualifying session in Monaco where Charles Leclerc took pole position as he crashed on his final flying lap and brought out a Red Flag,

Max Verstappen and Valtteri Bottas were both on track to go faster than the Ferrari man, but the stoppage meant that no other drivers could complete their laps.

There have been mixed opinions on the idea throughout the paddock, with some wanting it brought in and others feeling it’s unfair, and FIA race director Michael Masi has now confirmed that it is going to be seriously discussed in a meeting.

“It will be discussed between F1, the FIA and all of the team representatives in a sporting advisory committee meeting,” he said as per GPFans.

“We will go through and look at the pros and cons and unintended consequences, and also, is it a real issue we want to deal with in F1.

“Or is it something that we consider that what occurs with red flags during qualifying that you’ve effectively served your penalty by having an accident, and not being able to do anything further?

“There are lots of considerations but between us all, we will have a look at everything, and if it’s deemed necessary or not, will be determined in due course.”

Check all the latest 2021 teamwear via the official Formula 1 store

IndyCar is by no means the only motorsport series in the world to implement such a rule, with many others also having it in place.

In fact, Masi has been the race director of one that has used it in the past, V8 Supercars, but says that it was introduced there for other reasons.

“Yes, I have, for different reasons,” he said when asked he had used the rule before.

“When I was in Australia, that was used in my days with the Australian Supercars series, which, more particularly, came about for different purposes.”

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1, like our Facebook page and join us on Instagram!