Revised Australian GP starting grid


The 2018 season has kicked off with a pole position for Lewis Hamilton and grid penalties for Daniel Ricciardo and Valtteri Bottas.

There is two changes to Sunday’s Australian Grand Prix grid following qualifying with local lad Ricciardo dropping to eighth and Bottas to P15.

Red Bull’s Australian driver was penalised three places after failing to slow sufficiently for red flags during Friday’s second practice while Bottas was handed a five-place gearbox penalty.

The Mercedes driver crashed his car during qualifying, causing significant damage with the gearbox just one part that had to be changed. That comes with an automatic five-place penalty.

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Kimi Raikkonen
3 Sebastian Vettel
4 Max Verstappen
5 Kevin Magnussen
6 Romain Grosjean
7 Nico Hulkenberg
8 Daniel Ricciardo *
9 Carlos Sainz
10 Fernando Alonso
11 Stoffel Vandoorne
12 Sergio Perez
13 Lance Stroll
14 Esteban Ocon
15 Valtteri Bottas **
16 Brendon Hartley
17 Marcus Ericsson
18 Charles Leclerc
19 Sergey Sirotkin
20 Pierre Gasly

* red flag penalty
** gearbox penalty