Revised Austrian Grand Prix grid

Date published: June 30 2019 - Michelle Foster


With several drivers, including Lewis Hamilton, penalised ahead of Sunday’s Austrian Grand Prix, the grid is very different to the timesheet after qualifying.

Hamilton was handed a three-place grid drop on Saturday evening, penalised for impeding Kimi Raikkonen in Q1.

As such the Brit drops from second to fourth.

The FIA’s system for applying grid penalties meant Hamilton would have dropped from second to fifth where it not for Kevin Magnussen’s gearbox penalty coming into play and putting Hamilton up to fourth.

Further down the grid Nico Hulkenberg, with an engine penalty, falls to 15th while George Russell, who was due to go from P19 to P18 despite having a three-place for impeding Daniil Kvyat, is now starting from the pit lane.

Alexander Albon and Carlos Sainz will make up the back of the grid as both have engine penalties equating to more than 15 places.

Provisional grid
1 Charles Leclerc
2 Max Verstappen
3 Valtteri Bottas
4 Lewis Hamilton *
5 Lando Norris
6 Kimi Räikkönen
7 Antonio Giovinazzi
8 Pierre Gasly
9 Sebastian Vettel
10 Kevin Magnussen **
11 Romain Grosjean
12 Daniel Ricciardo
13 Sergio Perez
14 Lance Stroll
15 Nico Hulkenberg ***
16 Daniil Kvyat
17 Robert Kubica
18 Alexander Albon ***
19 Carlos Sainz ***
Pit-lane start – George Russell

* impeding
** gearbox
*** engine
***pit-lane start

Follow all the action from the Austrian Grand Prix with the PlanetF1 live centre