Revised Bahrain Grand Prix grid

Revised Bahrain Grand Prix grid

Revised Bahrain Grand Prix grid

Charles Leclerc will start his first grand prix from pole position in Bahrain on Sunday while Romain Grosjean’s penalty means Daniel Ricciardo is inside the top ten.

Grosjean qualified in eighth place for Sunday’s night race but was later hit with a three-place grid penalty for blocking Lando Norris.

As such the Haas driver falls to 11th while Ricciardo makes his first top-ten start for Renault.

At the sharp end of the grid it is Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel after Ferrari’s dominance handed the Scuderia a front row lock out.

They will start ahead of the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas while Max Verstappen and Kevin Magnussen make up the third row of the grid.

At the very back is the Williams pairing of George Russell and Robert Kubica.

The Grove drivers were over a second slower than 18th placed Lance Stroll and have already stated that Sunday’s race will be little more than a test session for Williams.

1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:27.866
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0.294s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 0.324s
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 0.390s
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0.886s
6 Kevin Magnussen Haas 0.891s
7 Carlos Sainz McLaren 0.947s
8 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing 1.156s
9 Lando Norris McLaren 1.177s
10 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1:29.488
11 Romain Grosjean Haas 1.149s *
12 Alex Albon Toro Rosso 1:29.513
13 Pierre Gasly Red Bull 1:29.526
14 Sergio Perez Racing Point 1:29.756
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:29.854
16 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing 1:30.026
17 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:30.034
18 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1:30.217
19 George Russell Williams 1:31.759
20 Robert Kubica Williams 1:31.799

* three-place grid drop for blocking

Follow all the action from the Bahrain Grand Prix with the PlanetF1 live centre