Ricciardo out of points after double penalty

Date published: June 23 2019

Daniel Ricciardo facing £10million court claim from former manager.

Daniel Ricciardo has been hit with two five-second penalties for his overtakes on Kimi Raikkonen and Lando Norris in the French GP, demoting him from P7 to P11.

Ricciardo, Kimi Raikkonen and Lando Norris were all called to see the stewards after they battled on the last lap.

With Norris suffering from hydraulic problems, Ricciardo, Raikkonen and the Aussie’s Renault team-mate Nico Hulkenberg all got involved in the battle which saw both Ricciardo and Norris leave the circuit at different stages, while Ricciardo went off again as he passed Raikkonen.

The stewards have now ruled that Ricciardo left the track on both occasions to gain an advantage and have issued two five-second penalties to drop him from P7 to P11 and out of the points.

Despite the investigation, Ricciardo had been pleased with himself for giving it a go.

“I care, but I don’t care,” Ricciardo told Sky Sports F1 when asked if a penalty was on its way.

“I’m just glad I tried and had a crack. I was certainly trying to pull it off and keep [the car] all on there.

“It was tight. I’m getting more comfortable in the car in race conditions, but still not quite where I was in the Red Bull.

“When I do brake on the limit, I mean, I always feel like I’m on the limit. But it was fun, the last few laps, it really came alive.

“Kimi was catching me and I was catching Lando. It all got pretty exciting.”

The news didn’t go down well with the Aussie…

And just before the penalty confirmation…

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.