Super Licence points to be awarded in W Series

Michelle Foster
Jamie Chadwick wins W Series

Jamie Chadwick wins W Series

The top eight ladies in this year’s W Series will score Super Licence points, with the winner bagging 15.

In order to achieve a Super Licence, which allows one to enter Formula 1, drivers must have scored 40 points over the course of three seasons.

Not all series, though, count towards Super Licence points.

However, as of 2020, the W series does.

The allocation:
1st place: 15 points
2nd place: 12 points
3rd place: 10 points
4th place: 7 points
5th place: 5 points
6th place: 3 points
7th place: 2 points
8th place: 1 point

Former F1 driver and W Series’ Advisory Board Chairman David Coulthard welcomed the news, saying it is a big step forward for the all-women racing series.

“Personally, I’m delighted that W Series has been further recognised by the FIA via the allocation of Super Licence points, the holy grail in any driver’s aspiration to become a Formula 1 driver,” said the Scot.

“Irrespective of where our current W Series drivers may race in future, the FIA’s decision confirms my absolute belief that W Series is essential in developing female talent and giving female drivers the opportunity to develop their skills so as to become successful professional racing drivers in the future.

“I would like to thank the FIA president, Jean Todt, for his vision and support ahead of what is only the second season of the W Series championship.”

This year’s W Series gets underway at Igora Drive on 30 May.

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.