Turkish GP returns in final 17-race F1 calendar

Jamie Woodhouse
Istanbul Park

Turkish GP eyeing long-term deal with F1.

Formula 1 has confirmed four extra Grands Prix for the 2020 calendar, including the return of the Turkish GP.

This season was originally going to be held over a record 22 rounds, though the global pandemic meant that is on hold.

But we will be getting 17 races this year after Formula 1 beefed up the schedule from 13.

A much-loved circuit of the past for Formula 1 fans, Istanbul Park will return to the calendar for the first time since 2011 to host the 2020 Turkish Grand Prix from November 13-15.

The circuit is still subject to homologation.

Two weeks later another triple-header will begin with the Bahrain Grand Prix, rescheduled to run from November 27-29.

Formula 1 will stay at the Bahrain International Circuit to contest the Sakhir Grand Prix from December 4-6.

And finally the Yas Marina Circuit will host the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix from December 11-13.

In a statement F1 added that “a number of races in the revised 2020 season will be open to a limited number of fans, including hospitality, and we are working with each promoter to finalise the details.”

Speaking to the F1 website about the announcement, CEO of the Formula One Group Chase Carey said: “We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season.

“This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible.

“While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”

The updated 2020 Formula 1 calendar is as follows:

July 5 Austria
July 12 Austria
July 19 Hungary
August 2 Britain
August 9 Britain
August 16 Spain
August 30 Belgium
September 6 Monza, Italy
September 13 Mugello, Italy
September 27 Russia
October 11 Nurburgring, Germany
October 25 Portimao, Portugal
November 1 Imola, Italy
November 15, Turkey * subject to homologation
November 29, Bahrain
December 6, Bahrain
December 13, Abu Dhabi

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.