Aitken retains his place in Renault’s academy


Renault have announced their line-up for their 2018 driver academy with Jack Aitken one of seven drivers in the mix.

Aitken, who is stepping up to Formula 2 this season after finishing runner-up in the 2017 GP3 series, joins Max Fewtrell, Christian Lundgaard and Sun Yue Yang in having been retained by the Academy whilst Sacha Fenestraz, Arthur Rougier and Victor Martins represent the new intake.

Fewtrell, Lundgaard, Rougier and Martins will compete in this year’s Formula Renault Eurocup while Fenestraz will contest the European Formula 3 Championship and Yue Yang will race in the British Formula 3 series

According to the Renault website, each driver will enjoy an extensive programme where racing is just one element. Physical and mental training, media and marketing support, engineering and learning the core values of the proud history of Renault in motorsport constitute the programme away from the track, with many elements taught at Renault Sport Formula One Team’s Enstone base.

Cyril Abiteboul, Renault’s MD, said: “The Renault Sport Academy continues Renault’s rich heritage of developing young driver talent and is tasked with finding future Renault Sport Formula One drivers. Our 2018 intake represents our strongest line-up yet and we will encourage and nurture every driver.

“Alongside Renault Sport Racing and Renault Sport Formula One Team, the Renault Sport Academy has grown and developed tremendously over the past two years. We will be keeping a close eye on everyone in the Academy as we seek to identify those who can develop to become the next Renault Sport Formula One drivers.”