Bahrain Circuit Guide



The Bahrain GP was staged for the first time in 2004.

The circuit at Sakhir has accommodation for 50,000 spectators housed in two fixed grandstands and other temporary ones.

The circuit built specially for the arrival of F1 racing but after six years on the calendar has undergo various changes ahead of the 2010 season as officials felt it was time to offer a new experience to drivers to compete with the likes of Abu Dhabi’s new Yas Marina layout.

The track has been lengthened from 5.412km to 6.299km offering a challenging loop of corners and height changes that stretch into the Sakhhir desert.

The circuit is designed by renowned specialist Hermann Tilke, who was also responsible for the Sepang circuit in Malaysia and carried out the recent modifications to the Nurburgring and Hockenheim circuits.

Directions: The circuit is located in Sakhir in the South of the main island (Bahrain Island). This island, which makes up 85 per cent of the territory of Bahrain, is 48 km long and 16 km wide. The Bahrain International Circuit is easily accessible by road from various directions. When coming from the Bahrain International Airport, drivers can choose from two major highways and a number of main roads which lead more or less directly to the circuit. Similarly, when coming from Saudi Arabia via the King Fahad Causeway, drivers follow a short highway straight to the circuit.


Circuit name: Bahrain International

Location: Sakhir

Laps: 57

Circuit Length: 5.412 km

Lap Record: 1:31.447 – F Alonso (2010)