Button penalised, revised grid


Jenson Button has added his name to the growing list of drivers penalised ahead of Sunday’s Japanese GP after taking new engine components and a 35-place grid drop.

The McLaren driver has a new internal combustion engine, MGU-H, MGU-K, turbo, control electronics and energy store.

The change, which means he is now running the same updated Honda engine as team-mate Fernando Alonso, has earned him a 35-place grid penalty.

Button’s penalty is good news for Pascal Wehrlein as he will now start from 21st place on the grid despite being slowest of all in qualifying and having a five-place penalty for a gearbox change.

Button will start P22.

In the top half of the grid both Ferrari drivers, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen, have penalties.

Vettel was penalised three places for causing a collision at the Malaysian GP while Raikkonen has a gearbox change penalty.

They will start P6 and P8 on the Suzuka grid.

The revised grid
1 Rosberg Mercedes 1:30.647
2 Hamilton Mercedes 1:30.660
3 Verstappen Red Bull 1:31.178
4 Ricciardo Red Bull 1:31.240
5 Perez Force India 1:31.961
6 Vettel Ferrari 1:31.028 *
7 Grosjean Haas 1:31.961
8 Raikkonen Ferrari 1:30.949 **
9 Hulkenberg Force India 1:32.142
10 Gutierrez Haas 1:32.547
11 Bottas Williams 1:32.315
12 Massa Williams 1:32.380
13 Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:32.623
14 Sainz Toro Rosso 1:32.685
15 Alonso McLaren 1:32.689
16 Palmer Renault 1:32.807
17 Magnussen Renault 1:33.023
18 Ericsson Sauber 1:33.222
19 Nasr Sauber 1:33.332
20 Ocon Manor 1:33.3353
21 Wehrlein Manor 1:33.561 *
22 Button McLaren 1:32.851

* 3-place penalty for causing a collision at previous round
** 5-place penalty for an unscheduled gearbox change