Canada hold off Georgia


Canada claimed their second successive win after edging out Georgia 16-15 in their World Cup warm-up clash in Esher, England, on Wednesday.

Fly-half Nathan Hirayama led the way for Canada with an 11-point haul via a conversion and three penalties and prop Andrew Tiedemann scored the Canucks' only try.

Georgia, however, crossed for a try in each half with flanker Giorgi Tkhilaishvili and full-back Beka Tsiklauri dotting down.

Canada made a superb start when Tiedemann barged over from close quarters in the fourth minute after his backs combined brilliantly from close to the halfway mark in the build-up.

Hirayama added the extras but Georgia struck back with a Lasha Malaguradze penalty in the 13th minute before Hirayama made it 10-3 via the kicking tee five minutes later.

Tkhilaishvili scored his side's first try close to the half-hour mark after his team attacked from a scrum close to Canada's tryline.

Hirayama then landed a 40-metre penalty to give his side a 13-10 lead at half-time.

Canada increased their lead in the 46th minute when Hirayama added his third penalty. Both sides upped the ante to secure victory as the game progressed and Georgia were rewarded with their second try in the 74th minute when Tsiklauri scored in the right-hand corner.

They failed with the conversion however and the Canucks clung on for victory.

The scorers:

For Canada:
Try: Tiedemann
Con: Hirayama
Pens: Hirayama 3

For Georgia:
Tries: Tkhilaishvili, Tsiklauri
Con: Malaguradze
Pen: Malaguradze

Canada: 15 Matt Evans, 14 Jeff Hassler, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Nick Blevins, 11 Phil Mackenzie, 10 Nathan Hirayama, 9 Jamie Mackenzie, 8 Aaron Carpenter, 7 John Moonlight, 6 Jebb Sinclair, 5 Jamie Cudmore (c), 4 Brett Beukeboom, 3 Andrew Tiedemann, 2 Ray Barkwill, 1 Djustice Sears-Duru.
Replacements: 16 Benoit Piffero, 17 Hubert Buydens, 18 Jason Marshall, 19 Evan Olmstead, 20 Kyle Gilmour, 21 Gordon McRorie, 22 Conor Trainor, 24 Harry Jones.

Georgia: 15 Beka Tsiklauri, 14 Giorgi Pruidze, 13 Merab Sharikadze, 12 Tamaz Mchedlidze, 11 Giorgi Aptsiauri, 10 Lasha Malaguradze, 9 Giorgi Begadze, 8 Lasha Lomidze, 7 Mamuka Gorgodze (c), 6 Giorgi Tkhilaishvili, 5 Levan Datunashvili, 4 Giorgi Nemsadze, 3 Levan Chilachava, 2 Shalva Mamukashvili, 1 Karlen Asieshvili.
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Mikheil Nariashvili, 18 Davit Zirakashvili, 19 Kostantine Mikautadze, 20 Giorgi Chkhaidze, 21 Vazha Khutsishvili, 22 Lasha Khmaladze, 23 Davit Kacharava.

Referee: JP Doyle (England)