Confirmed driver line-ups for Hungary Test


The driver line-up for the two-day test following the Hungarian Grand Prix is almost complete, with Robert Kubica the headline act on Wednesday.

The test represents a huge step in Kubica’s journey of what would be a remarkable Formula 1 return following his horrific rally accident back in 2011.

Wednesday will be the first time the Pole has got behind the wheel of a 2017 car after continuing to catch Renault’s eye in the old 2012 E20 at a couple of private tests in Spain and France.

And, with this being a public test, Kubica’s data will be there for all to see as he attempts to at least match the pace of the current field.

FIA rules stipulate that teams must give two of the four days of in-season testing to drivers who have featured in fewer than three grands prix this season, hence why so many young drivers are being given an opportunity to impress.

19-year-old Brit George Russell, part of Mercedes’ Young Driver Programme, is pulling double duty for the Silver Arrows, as is 19-year-old Santino Ferrucci for Haas.

Runaway GP2 leader Charles Leclerc will be in the Ferrari on the first day, with other GP2 drivers such as Gustav Malja and Nobuharu Matsushita both featuring for Sauber.

Stoffel Vandoorne and Felipe Massa are the only current Formula 1 drivers who will have to wait to start their summer holidays.

Red Bull have still yet to confirm their full driver line-up and there are also spots to fill up at Ferrari and Toro Rosso.

Tuesday                                      Wednesday
Mercedes               George Russell                          George Russell
Ferrari                    Charles Leclerc*                                TBC
Red Bull                 Max Verstappen                          Pierre Gasly
Force India        Nikita Mazepin/Lucas Auer      Nikita Mazepin/Lucas Auer
Renault                Nicholas Latifi                               Robert Kubica
McLaren-Honda   Stoffel Vandoorne                        Lando Norris
Williams                  Luca Ghiotto*                           Felipe Massa*
Haas                   Santino Ferrucci                         Santino Ferrucci
Toro Rosso            Sean Gelael*                                   TBC
Sauber                  Gustav Malja                         Nobuharu Matsushita

*Running order not confirmed