Fiji name XV to face Canada


Fiji have named their 23-man squad for Sunday's Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Canada in London.

Speaking ahead of the fixture, Fijian head coach John McKee said: “ The match against Canada is very important in our build up towards Rugby World Cup 2015.

“This game will enable us to put in place our game plan worked on in camp in Fiji and here at Aldershot. 

“I am looking for a disciplined performance against Canada. In the 2015 Pacific Nations Cup, our penalty count was too high. 

“In Sunday's match the players must be very disciplined not to give away penalties for offside and in the ruck area.

“It was great to see a good crowd of Fiji supporters at our training this week. I hope plenty of our supporters here in the UK take the opportunity to see the Flying Fijians in action against Canada at The Stoop on Sunday.”

Meanwhile England head coach Stuart Lancaster has admitted that he will be keeping an eye on Sunday’s Test match, adding: “We have huge respect for the Fijians and we know that they will pose a significant threat for us in the opening game.

"They are well coached and have a tremendous amount of natural talent, physicality and flair. Watching them recently in the Pacific Nations Cup, they were worthy winners and will quite rightly be coming into this World Cup with confidence.

"It will be interesting to see how they go against Canada at The Stoop this Sunday.”

Fiji: 15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 13 Vereniki Goneva, 12 Gabirieli Lovobalavu, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Ben Volavola, 9 Nikola Matawalu, 8 Sakiusa Masi, 7 Akapusi Qera (c), 6 Dominiko Waqaniburtu, 5 Apisalome Ratuniyarawa, 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Sunia Koto, 1 Campese Maafu
Replacements: 16 Viliame Veikoso, 17 Peni Ravai, 18 Leeroy Atalifo, 19 Tevita Cavubati, 20 Netani Talei, 21 Nemia Kenatale, 22 Joshua Matavesi, 23 tbc

Date: Sunday, September 6
Venue: The Stoop, Twickenham
Kick-off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Ian Davies (Wales), Vlad Iordachescu (Romania)