FP1: Hamilton claims top spot


World Champion Lewis Hamilton continued his dominance from the Monaco Grand Prix as he topped the first practice session of the Canadian Grand Prix.

The Brit flew through the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on the super soft compound and set a fastest time of 1:14.755.

Despite Hamilton’s teammate Nico Rosberg, who finished second, consistently improving his times, he still couldn’t match the World Champion during the 90 minutes.

Impressively, running on the hardest compound available, Red Bull youngster Max Verstappen was fourth fastest of the day behind the Silver Arrows, with his teammate Daniel Ricciardo placing just outside the top ten.

Elsewhere, 2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen led for much of the session but ultimately finished the session fifth fastest. While his Ferrari teammate Sebastian Vettel placed third on the lap times with super softs.

The Scuderia duo will have their work cut out for them as they try and get their title of Mercedes’ main competitor back from Red Bull.

Williams driver Felipe Massa was the first and only casualty of the day when he hit the barrier with his rear, which called for a red flag to be waved.

The Brazilian said on the radio to the team: “I cancelled the DRS and lost the rear completely.”

Massa’s teammate Valterri Bottas, who placed sixth. also disappointed in Montreal as there were plenty of chatter claiming that they were going to be a threat this weekend.

McLaren driver Jenson Button gave the F1 paddock a scare late in the session with five minutes to go after a cloud of smoke exited his garage and was told to box after he tried to do a lap.

It is also worth noting that Haas and Mercedes were the only teams to try out the ultra soft compound tyres during FP1.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.755 22 laps
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:15.086 0.331 30 laps
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:15.243 0.488 22 laps
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:15.553 0.798 29 laps
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:15.618 0.863 23 laps
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:16.301 1.546 30 laps
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:16.464 1.709 24 laps
8 Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso 1:16.543 1.788 21 laps
9 Sergio Perez Force India 1:16.577 1.822 25 laps
10 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:16.663 1.908 18 laps
11 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:16.734 1.979 28 laps
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:16.788 2.033 8 laps
13 Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team 1:17.008 2.253 22 laps
14 Felipe Massa Williams 1:17.065 2.310 7 laps
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:17.310 2.555 24 laps
16 Esteban Gutierrez Haas F1 Team 1:17.319 2.564 24 laps
17 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:17.855 3.100 21 laps
18 Rio Haryanto Manor Racing 1:18.103 3.348 21 laps
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:18.129 3.374 8 laps
20 Kevin Magnussen Renault F1 Team 1:18.409 3.654 13 laps
21 Pascal Wehrlein Manor Racing 1:18.453 3.698 30 laps
22 Jolyon Palmer Renault F1 Team 1:18.583 3.828 28 laps