FP1: Hamilton quickest, Perez crashes


Sergio Perez walked away unscathed from a crash in Friday's practice for the Hungarian GP, a session topped by Lewis Hamilton.

On a morning when Formula 1 paid tribute to Jules Bianchi, the last thing anyone wanted to see was an accident and especially a dramatic one.

With 30 minutes remaining in FP1 at the Hungaroring, Perez ran wide along the kerb at Turn 11 before his car was shot sidewards as his rear suspension failed.

He shot across the track and hit the barrier. From there his car rebounded only to dig into the grass and flip.

Force India were immediately on the radio asking Perez if he was okay. He said: "Yes, I'm okay." Moments later he climbed from the car and walked unaided to the medical car.

It was a shocking end to a strange crash.

The session resumed with Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg quickest of all, positions they would hold through to the chequered flag.

With the track temperature reaching 45'C, Hamilton lowered the benchmark time to a 1:25.141 to edge Rosberg by 0.109s.

Their progress was halted by a second red flag, the result of Kimi Raikkonen's front wing falling off his ST15-T. The Finn rode over it, puncturing a tyre and leaving debris all over the track. The session was stopped for the track marshals to clean up and restarted wtih a minute on the clock.

Raikkonen was third quickest ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat. The trio were the only drivers to get within a second of Hamilton's P1 time.

Sebastian Vettel finished P6 in what was a troubled session for the German. He lost time in the opening 30 minutes due to an electrical problem before, back on track later, he reported a loss of power and limped back to the pits. Ferrari were able to fix the problems and he was back out later.

Carlos Sainz was seventh ahead of Perez, Valtteri Bottas, who was running Williams' new front wing, and Verstappen.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:25.141 19 laps
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:25.250 0.109 22 laps
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:25.812 0.671 23 laps
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:26.053 0.912 21 laps
5 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:26.070 0.929 17 laps
6 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:26.395 1.254 14 laps
7 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:26.727 1.586 25 laps
8 Sergio Perez Force India 1:26.776 1.635 15 laps
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:26.825 1.684 19 laps
10 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:26.934 1.793 27 laps
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:27.272 2.131 16 laps
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:27.308 2.167 17 laps
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:27.317 2.176 11 laps
14 Felipe Massa Williams 1:27.381 2.240 19 laps
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:27.409 2.268 24 laps
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:27.732 2.591 23 laps
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:28.568 3.427 9 laps
18 Will Stevens Manor 1:29.693 4.552 17 laps
19 Fabio Leimer Manor 1:30.631 5.490 18 laps
20 Jolyon Palmer Lotus No time 4 laps