FP1: Hamilton’s back on top


Lewis Hamilton shrugged aside his Monaco woes to set the pace in the opening practice session for the Canadian GP, comfortably up on Nico Rosberg.

As in FP1 in Monaco, the Mercedes drivers were the first to lay down times as Hamilton and Rosberg put in lap after lap. They duo covered 12 and 13 respectively in the first 30 minutes alone.

During that time they embarked in an intra-team battle for the P1 slot, trading fastest lap times before Hamilton finished up with a 1:16.608 while Rosberg clocked a 1:16.860.

Back out on track halfway through the 90-minute session, Rosberg closed up on Hamilton, with the gap just 0.019s, while the Brit joined the list of those spinning as he lost it at the hairpin.

In a spate of two minutes, Carlos Sainz, Valtteri Bottas and Hamilton all spun at various points of the track, proving that it doesn't matter where you are on the learning curve, everyone makes mistakes.

Hamilton came back from his spin to post a 1:16.212 and finished FP1 0.415s ahead of Rosberg in yet another unchallenged Mercedes 1-2. They covered 34 and 38 laps in total.

The surprise of the session were third and fourth places which went to Romain Grosjean and Nico Hulkenberg respectively. Grosjean clocked a 1:17.721, which was 1.5s off the pace, while Hulkenberg in the under-developed Force India was a further tenth down.

Sebastian Vettel was fifth for Ferrari ahead of Felipe Massa, Daniil Kvyat and Pastor Maldonado.

There were, once again, problems over at McLaren as Jenson Button managed just three laps in the opening half of the session as his MP4-30 was stuck in "second gear". After two attempts he finally got running and finished the session P15. His team-mate Fernando Alonso was P9.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:16.212 34 laps
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:16.627 0.415 38 laps
3 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:17.721 1.509 35 laps
4 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:17.871 1.659 34 laps
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:17.905 1.693 25 laps
6 Felipe Massa Williams 1:17.985 1.773 28 laps
7 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:18.021 1.809 30 laps
8 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:18.026 1.814 41 laps
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:18.128 1.916 34 laps
10 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:18.257 2.045 24 laps
11 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:18.325 2.113 40 laps
12 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:18.439 2.227 26 laps
13 Sergio Perez Force India 1:18.503 2.291 28 laps
14 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:18.775 2.563 24 laps
15 Jenson Button McLaren 1:18.786 2.574 25 laps
16 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:18.948 2.736 30 laps
17 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:19.065 2.853 23 laps
18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:19.165 2.953 32 laps
19 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:20.616 4.404 33 laps
20 Will Stevens Manor 1:20.624 4.412 27 laps