FP1: Rosberg sets the pace at Monza


Nico Rosberg posted a 1:22.959 to beat team-mate Lewis Hamilton to the first P1 of the Italian Grand Prix weekend, while Kimi Raikkonen was third.

As with Spa last weekend, Friday’s practice began with a spate of Halo runs as Jenson Button, Sergio Perez and Max Verstappen all trialed the device. However, only Button opted for more than one lap.

He set his first time of the day, a 1:28.922, with Halo attached before heading back into the pits having been told the “data is good” by McLaren.

The opening 30 minutes of FP1 saw the Mercedes drivers trade fastest lap times on the prototype Pirelli soft tyres, and they picked up where they left off when they swapped to the supersofts.

The first drivers to make the change, Mercedes held the 1-2 comfortably with both Hamilton and Rosberg putting in a faster second flying lap on the supersofts.

Hamilton hit the front with a 1:23.643, a mere 0.008s faster than Rosberg.

Returning to the soft tyres – this time the real deal, not the prototypes – Rosberg grabbed P1 off his team-mate with a 1:22.959. Hamilton was 0.203s off the pace.

Kimi Raikkonen was third for Ferrari, just ahead of his team-mate Sebastian Vettel. The Scuderia drivers were 1.088s and 1.349s off the pace respectively.

Perez was fifth for Force India as he finished ahead of Romain Grosjean, Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen. Perez and Grosjean’s times was set on the supersoft tyres.

Fernando Alonso had an early end to his practice as he was told to return to the pits “slowly” after encountering a gearbox problem. He was P13.

A turbo issue cost Felipe Massa track-time at his final Italian Grand Prix weekend. He covered 18 laps and finished 14th fastest.

1  Nico Rosberg  Mercedes 1’22.959 37 laps
2  Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes 1’23.162 0.203 36 laps
3  Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari 1’24.047 1.088 16 laps
4  Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari 1’24.307 1.348 17 laps
5  Sergio Perez  Force India 1’24.650 1.691 32 laps
6  Romain Grosjean  Haas 1’24.763 1.804 17 laps
7  Valtteri Bottas  Williams 1’24.785 1.826 37 laps
8  Max Verstappen  Red Bull 1’24.982 2.023 25 laps
9  Esteban Gutierrez  Haas 1’25.113 2.154 19 laps
10  Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull 1’25.120 2.161 17 laps
11  Jenson Button  McLaren 1’25.351 2.392 23 laps
12  Alfonso Celis Jr.  Force India 1’25.367 2.408 30 laps
13  Fernando Alonso  McLaren 1’25.507 2.548 14 laps
14  Felipe Massa  Williams 1’25.840 2.881 18 laps
15  Marcus Ericsson  Sauber 1’25.853 2.894 20 laps
16  Carlos Sainz Jr.  Toro Rosso 1’25.973 3.014 20 laps
17  Daniil Kvyat  Toro Rosso 1’26.074 3.115 20 laps
18  Esteban Ocon  Manor 1’26.391 3.432 30 laps
19  Felipe Nasr  Sauber    1’26.439 3.480 21 laps
20  Pascal Wehrlein  Manor 1’26.762 3.803 28 laps
21  Jolyon Palmer  Renault 1’26.811 3.852 35 laps
22  Kevin Magnussen  Renault 1’26.956 3.997 32 laps