FP2: Hamilton hits the front in Russia

Date published: April 29 2016 - Editor

Lewis Hamilton set the pace in FP2 for the Russian GP, a session that saw Ferrari use their upgraded engine to split the Mercs before an electrical issue halted Sebastian Vettel.

Ferrari, running an upgraded engine, took the fight to Mercedes as the drivers ventured out for the start of Practice Two at the Sochi Autodrom.

Vettel led the way as Ferrari and Mercedes put in their first laps on the soft tyres, however, he was soon pipped by Hamilton who posted a 1:38.311.

It was more of the same as they switched to the super-soft rubber with Vettel again hitting the front. This time the German lowered the benchmark to a 1:38.235.

His afternoon, though, was cut short after just 10 laps when he “lost the electronics” on his SF16-H, forcing him to stop on the pit straight.

While the German was in the pits Hamilton headed out on used super-softs, put in three purple sectors, and clocked a 1:37.583. That put him 0.652s up on Vettel.

It appeared as if Hamilton would go even quicker as he put in another lap of purple sectors times in the first and second sectors only to back off in the final sector.

Nico Rosberg slotted into third place, 0.867s off his team-mate’s pace while Kimi Raikkonen was fourth.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in fifth as the Red Bull racer and Valtteri Bottas once again engaged in their own personal battle. They were separated by a tenth of a second.

Daniil Kvyat was seventh at his home track ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button and Felipe Massa.

Fernando Alonso made it two McLarens inside the top ten as he finished P10 with a 1:39.400. He was 1.817s off the P1 pace.

1 Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes 1:37.583 30 laps
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:38.235 +0.652 10 laps
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:38.450 +0.867 37 laps
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:38.793 +1.210 35 laps
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:39.084 +1.501 34 laps
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:39.185 +1.602 42 laps
7 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull Racing 1:39.193 +1.610 32 laps
8 Jenson Button McLaren 1:39.196 +1.613 31 laps
9 Felipe Massa Williams 1:39.289 +1.706 38 laps
10 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:39.400 +1.817 30 laps
11 Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso 1:39.465 +1.882 37 laps
12 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:39.501 +1.918 30 laps
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:39.795 +2.212 31 laps
14 Sergio Perez Force India 1:39.867 +2.284 38 laps
15 Kevin Magnussen Renault F1 Team 1:40.193 +2.610 41 laps
16 Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team 1:40.260 +2.677 24 laps
17 Esteban Gutierrez Haas F1 Team 1:40.508 +2.925 26 laps
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault F1 Team 1:40.688 +3.105 37 laps
19 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:40.740 +3.157 31 laps
20 Rio Haryanto Manor Racing 1:41.080 +3.497 38 laps
21 Pascal Wehrlein Manor Racing 1:41.148 +3.565 23 laps
22 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:41.652 +4.069 29 laps