FP2: Hamilton untouchable


Despite threats from Nico Rosberg and Sebastian Vettel, Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton took his topped both Friday practice sessions for the Canadian Grand Prix.

The triple World Champion was unmatched in pace throughout the entire day as he ended FP2 with a lap time of 1:14.212 on ultra soft tyres.

Encouragingly, Scuderia speedster, Vettel, managed to split the two Silver Arrows and finished the session only a fraction of a second behind Hamilton in P2.

Rosberg once again couldn’t clock the speed his teammate was putting in, although he did managed occupy P1 for a short amount of time before the Brit posted a quicker time.

Further down the pecking order, Red Bull duo Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen spent most of their 90 minutes on a stint with super soft tyres. Ricciardo ended the session in fifth while his teenage teammate was fourth fastest.

After damaging his rear in FP1, Williams driver Felipe Massa looked uncomfortable throughout the session as he finished outside the top ten in 13th place.

Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen failed to keep up with the younger drivers near the front as the Finn finished FP2 in an underwhelming P8, while his long-term rival Jenson Button finished one place above him in P7.

Impressively, Toro Rosso driver Carlos Sainz managed to finish in the top ten as he placed his Ferrari powered car in P10.

Renault driver Jolyon Palmer perhaps had the most interesting strategy today. The Brit did 40 laps on the soft tyres, the hardest compound available.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.212 43 laps
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:14.469 +0.257 45 laps
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:14.738 0.526 46 laps
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:15.156 0.944 29 laps
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:15.168 0.956 43 laps
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:15.213 1.001 46 laps
7 Jenson Button McLaren 1:15.213 1.001 35 laps
8 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:15.234 1.022 43 laps
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:15.321 1.109 50 laps
10 Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso 1:15.410 1.198 42 laps
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:15.450 1.238 40 laps
12 Sergio Perez Force India 1:15.493 1.281 47 laps
13 Felipe Massa Williams 1:15.513 1.301 44 laps
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:15.559 1.347 42 laps
15 Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team 1:16.093 1.881 35 laps
16 Kevin Magnussen Renault F1 Team 1:16.255 2.043 39 laps
17 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:16.582 2.370 40 laps
18 Esteban Gutierrez Haas F1 Team 1:16.591 2.379 32 laps
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:16.902 2.690 51 laps
20 Jolyon Palmer Renault F1 Team 1:17.001 2.789 48 laps
21 Pascal Wehrlein Manor Racing 1:17.023 2.811 32 laps
22 Rio Haryanto Manor Racing 1:17.423 3.211 49 laps