FP2: Kvyat steals the show


Daniil Kvyat pulled off a massive surprise as he topped the timesheets in FP2 in Singapore, 0.039s up on Kimi Raikkonen.

Friday night’s practice had barely begun before the first red flag came out with Manor’s night going from bad to worse.

While in FP1 it was Alexander Rossi who hit the barrier, the damaging meaning he was unable to run at the start of the night’s second session, in FP2 it was Will Stevens.

The Brit lost the rear end of his Manor under braking and smacked the barrier at Turn 11 with the rear left.

With the session back underway minutes later, Raikkonen set the early pace ahead of Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo.

The Ferrari driver posted a 1:47.659 to edge the Russian racer by a mere 0.017s.

The Mercedes pairing of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg were fourth and fifth on the soft tyres before Hamilton upped his pace to go P1 with a 1:47.633.

Swapping to the supersoft tyres Raikkonen hit the front again, a 1:46.181 for the Finn.

However, that didn’t last as Kvyat, one of the last to put in his supersoft run, went quickest with a 1:46.142. He was 0.039s faster than Raikkonen.

His team-mate Ricciardo was third ahead of Hamilton, who made a mistake at Turn 1 on his first flying lap, and Sebastian Vettel. The latter two were separated by 0.008s.

As the drivers changed their focus from qualifying to race simulation there were more concerns for Mercedes.

The Brackley squad, who have dominated this year’s Championship, found themselves under threat from both Red Bull Racing and Ferrari, which bodes well for Sunday night’s race.

1 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull    1:46.142 34 laps
2 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:46.181 +0.039 34 laps
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:46.256 0.114 29 laps
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:46.479 0.337 33 laps
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:46.487 0.345 35 laps
6 Sergio Perez Force India 1:46.659 0.517 30 laps
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:46.781 0.639 34 laps
8 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:46.959 0.817 26 laps
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:47.294 1.152 35 laps
10 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:47.427 1.285 32 laps
11 Felipe Massa Williams 1:47.684 1.542 28 laps
12 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:47.755 1.613 26 laps
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:47.795 1.653 33 laps
14 Jenson Button McLaren 1:47.888 1.746 28 laps
15 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:48.012 1.870 23 laps
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:48.096 1.954 32 laps
17 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:48.118 1.976 28 laps
18 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:50.094 3.952 30 laps
19 Alexander Rossi Manor 1:56.739 10.597 9 laps
20 Will Stevens Manor 1:59.932 13.790 3 laps