FP2: Massa tops rain-interrupted session

Date published: October 9 2015 - Editor

Felipe Massa claimed the P1 at a very cold and wet Sochi circuit on a Friday afternoon where only eight drivers posted times.

Following the diesel drama that cost the drivers 30 minutes of track time in FP1, the teams had hoped to get down to business as soon as the pit lane light went green in FP2. That, though, was not to be.

Heavy rain began to fall minutes before the 90-minute session began leaving all the drivers in the pits as the clock started the countdown.

With the rain letting up it took 20 minutes before the first driver – Sebastian Vettel – ventured out and 40 minutes before the first lap time was posted – a 2:05.599 by Fernando Alonso. The McLaren driver lowered that to a 2:01.077 before he headed into the pits as the rain grew in intensity.

Another 20 minutes passed before other drivers recorded times with Max Verstappen taking over at the front. A 2:00.806 for the Toro Rosso rookie. As “really heavy rain” began to fall, the Dutchman’s P1 looked to be guaranteed only for several drivers to put in late charges.

The session ended with Felipe Massa quickest of all with a 2:00.458, 0.201s up on Sebastian Vettel, while Valtteri Bottas was a further 0.029s down.

Verstappen finished fourth ahead of Alonso, Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz. Jenson Button was the only other driver to complete timed laps.

1 Felipe Massa Williams 2:00.458 7 laps
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 2:00.659 +0.201 9 laps
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams 2:00.688 0.230 8 laps
4 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 2:00.806 0.348 7 laps
5 Fernando Alonso McLaren 2:01.077 0.619 12 laps
6 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 2:01.418 0.960 6 laps
7 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 2:02.805 2.347 7 laps
8 Jenson Button McLaren 2:02.845 2.387 9 laps
9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes    6 laps
10 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 3 laps
11 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 3 laps
12 Sergio Perez Force India 3 laps
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 3 laps
14 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1 lap
15 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0 laps
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus 0 laps
17 Felipe Nasr Sauber 0 laps
18 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 0 laps
19 Will Stevens Manor  0 laps
20 Roberto Merhi Manor 0 laps