FP2: Rosberg sets the pace as Hamilton crashes


Mercedes’ expected 1-2 in Friday’s second practice at the Hungaroring was blighted by a crash from Lewis Hamilton leaving Nico Rosberg alone at the top of the timesheet.

15 minutes into the session, and P1 at the time on the soft tyres, Hamilton lost it on the kerbs which pitched him into a spin and into the barriers at Turn 11.

The impact, which was side on, did not cause much damage to his W07 and Hamilton was able to slowly make his way back to the pits.

But despite that Mercedes revealed that the Brit’s session was over. “Although he made it back to garage, car needs to be fully stripped and checked after impact with barrier,” said the team.

The session also had to be red flagged for a few minutes as marshals repaired the Turn 11 barrier, which had been dented in the impact.

With the action back underway, Rosberg went quickest on the supersofts with a 1:20.435.

That put him 0.595s up on Daniel Ricciardo while Sebastian Vettel was third for Ferrari, and the only other driver to get within a second of Rosberg’s P1 time.

Max Verstappen was fourth fastest, 1.335s off the pace, while Hamilton’s time on the soft tyres was still good enough for fifth place ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button.

Both Valtteri Bottas and Carlos Sainz ended the session under investigation; Bottas for failing to keep the correct side of a bollard coming into the pit lane and Sainz for crossing the pit entry line.

There were a few late incidents at Turn 2 as Kevin Magnussen spun and reported a puncture. Felipe Nasr was off in the gravel with a mechanical and Carlos Sainz spun seconds later – and all at Turn 2. Sainz’s session ended shortly after in the Turn 1 gravel.

1  Nico Rosberg  Mercedes 1’20.435 45 laps
2  Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull 1’21.030 +0.595 36 laps
3  Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari 1’21.348 +0.913 31 laps
4  Max Verstappen  Red Bull 1’21.770 +1.335 35 laps
5  Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes 1’21.960 +1.525 4 laps
6  Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari 1’22.058 +1.623 46 laps
7  Fernando Alonso  McLaren 1’22.328 +1.893 21 laps
8  Jenson Button  McLaren 1’22.387 +1.952 34 laps
9  Nico Hulkenberg  Force India 1’22.449 +2.014 41 laps
10  Sergio Perez  Force India 1’22.653 +2.218 38 laps
11  Esteban Gutierrez  Haas 1’22.673 +2.238 38 laps
12  Felipe Massa  Williams 1’22.681 +2.246 39 laps
13  Carlos Sainz Jr.  Toro Rosso 1’22.689 +2.254 24 laps
14  Valtteri Bottas  Williams 1’22.773 +2.338 38 laps
15  Romain Grosjean  Haas 1’22.864 +2.429 28 laps
16  Daniil Kvyat  Toro Rosso 1’22.948 +2.513 43 laps
17  Kevin Magnussen  Renault 1’23.347 +2.912 41 laps
18  Marcus Ericsson  Sauber 1’23.437 +3.002 36 laps
19  Jolyon Palmer  Renault 1’23.528 +3.093 12 laps
20  Felipe Nasr  Sauber 1’23.986 +3.551 31 laps
21  Pascal Wehrlein  Manor 1’23.992 +3.557 22 laps
22  Rio Haryanto  Manor 1’24.265 +3.830 36 laps