FP2: Rosberg shines under lights


As night fell over the Sakhir circuit, Nico Rosberg came to the fore with the Mercedes driver edging team-mate Lewis Hamilton in FP2.

Unlike in FP1 when Mercedes did not factor, Hamilton was immediately involved in the night session, topping the timesheets on the medium tyres.

A swap to the softs saw his team-mate Rosberg come to the fore.

Chasing Hamilton around the track, the Brit clocked a 1:34.762 only to be beaten by Rosberg by 0.115s.

Ferrari dropped to third and fourth with neither Kimi Raikkonen nor Sebastian Vettel getting in clean laps on their first soft tyre lap.

The duo were both able to keep life in the tyres and posted a 1:35.174 and a 1:35.277 respectively.

Vettel's night, though, was not without problems.

Later in the session, putting in a long run, he reported a brake issue which ended with Sergio Perez clipping his front wing.

With debris on the track, the session was briefly red flagged to allow the marshals to clean up.

Valtteri Bottas was fifth for Williams ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Pastor Maldonado. The trio all finished within a second of Rosberg's P1 time.

Felipe Nasr, Daniil Kvyat and Felipe Massa completed the top ten.

Over at McLaren, Fernando Alonso was P12, 1.544s off the pace, while Jenson Button had another stop start session due to an "anomaly" in Button's engine data.

He eventually completed 15 laps and was P19.

The only driver slower was Manor's Roberto Merhi, who was 5.945s slower than Rosberg.

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:34.647 31 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:34.762 0.115 33 laps
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:35.174 0.527 30 laps
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:35.277 0.630 26 laps
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:35.28 0.633 36 laps
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:35.449 0.802 27 laps
7 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:35.474 0.827 34 laps
8 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:35.793 1.146 27 laps
9 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:35.883 1.236 23 laps
10 Felipe Massa Williams 1:35.884 1.237 35 laps
11 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:36.148 1.501 34 laps
12 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:36.191 1.544 22 laps
13 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:36.334 1.687 31 laps
14 Carlos Sainz Torro Rosso 1:36.471 1.824 32 laps
15 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:36.805 2.158 30 laps
16 Max Verstappen Torro Rosso 1:36.917 2.270 26 laps
17 Sergio Perez Force India 1:37.062 2.415 33 laps
18 Will Stevens Manor 1:39.131 4.484 21 laps
19 Jenson Button McLaren 1:39.209 4.562 15 laps
20 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:40.592 5.945 26 laps