FP3: Hamilton outpaces Rosberg at Monza


Final practice for the Italian Grand Prix belonged to Lewis Hamilton as he was almost four-tenths up on his team-mate Nico Rosberg.

Saturday’s final practice began with good and bad news for Haas as Esteban Gutierrez and Romain Grosjean ran the early 1-2 (even though just seven drivers had set lap times) only for Grosjean’s session to come to a premature halt.

He hit the inside kerb, which pitched his VF16 into a spin that left the Frenchman stranded in the gravel at Ascari. “I’m stuck in the gravel,” was his explanation.

When the Mercedes driver it was an immediate change at the top with Hamilton clocking a 1:22.856.

Rosberg’s first flying lap was ruined by Max Verstappen as he caught the slow Red Bull at the chicane. “What on earth was that?” asked Rosberg.

His second flier put him P3 as Mercedes were challenged by the Ferraris with Sebastian Vettel second and Kimi Raikkonen fourth. The Scuderia drivers, though, were on the supersofts to Mercedes’ softs.

Swapping to the supersoft tyres Rosberg crossed the line with a 1:22.401 before Hamilton hit back. Up in the first sector, and the second, and the third, the Brit retook P1 with a 1:22.008.

Vettel was third as he put in a run of personal best sectors times to seal third place. He was, however, 0.938s off the pace. Raikkonen was fourth, a further two-tenths off the pace.

Williams put in a better showing to finish fifth and sixth with Valtteri Bottas ahead of Felipe Massa while Red Bull lined up next with Daniel Ricciardo 0.031s quicker than Max Verstappen.

Sergio Perez and Gutierrez completed the top ten.

1  Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes 1’22.008 14 laps
2  Nico Rosberg  Mercedes 1’22.401 0.393 17 laps
3  Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari 1’22.946 0.938 13 laps
4  Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari 1’23.149 1.141 12 laps
5  Valtteri Bottas  Williams 1’23.500 1.492 20 laps
6  Felipe Massa  Williams 1’23.647 1.639 19 laps
7  Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull 1’23.709 1.701 23 laps
8  Max Verstappen  Red Bull 1’23.740 1.732 21 laps
9  Sergio Perez  Force India 1’23.917 1.909 20 laps
10  Esteban Gutierrez  Haas 1’24.034 2.026 15 laps
11  Nico Hulkenberg  Force India 1’24.041 2.033 21 laps
12  Jenson Button  McLaren 1’24.104 2.096 11 laps
13  Carlos Sainz Jr.  Toro Rosso 1’24.240 2.232 17 laps
14  Romain Grosjean  Haas 1’24.463 2.455 4 laps
15  Jolyon Palmer  Renault 1’24.533 2.525 13 laps
16  Marcus Ericsson  Sauber 1’24.542 2.534 20 laps
17  Fernando Alonso  McLaren 1’24.658 2.650 12 laps
18  Felipe Nasr  Sauber 1’24.715 2.707 19 laps
19  Kevin Magnussen  Renault 1’24.793 2.785 12 laps
20  Daniil Kvyat  Toro Rosso 1’24.845 2.837 17 laps
21  Pascal Wehrlein  Manor 1’24.893 2.885 19 laps
22  Esteban Ocon  Manor 1’24.938 2.930 15 laps