FP3: Rosberg claims final practice P1

Date published: November 28 2015 - Editor

Nico Rosberg holds the advantage heading in Saturday’s qualifying as he beat Lewis Hamilton to P1 in final practice for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The final practice session of the 2015 Formula 1 season took place at the Yas Marina circuit on what was yet another warm day in the United Arab Emirates.

Hamilton had the better of the soft tyre running as he led the way with a 1:43.076. Trying to up his pace, though, the Brit instead found himself spinning off the track. Taking too much of the inside kerb, he was sent sliding towards the outside kerb which resulted in the spin.

And while the spin was an unusual error from the Mercedes driver so too was the look of the timesheets. Kimi Raikkonen run in second place ahead of Nico Rosberg who could only manage to split the Ferrari drivers. Sebastian Vettel, another driver to have a spin, was P4.

Swapping to the supersoft tyres Rosberg hit the front with a 1:42.196 while Hamilton made a mistake on his lap leaving him 0.882s down on his team-mate. Despite concerns that the option tyres were not good for a second hot lap both Mercedes drivers were able to get one in after a slow down lap.

Rosberg upped his pace to a 1:41.856 while Hamilton also did good lap but was 0.281s slower than his team-mate.

Vettel jumped up to third place on his supersoft run as the Ferrari driver was just 0.329s down on Rosberg’s best, a great result for the Scuderia.

Sergio Perez was fourth ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Daniel Ricciardo. The Aussie’s team-mate had a torrid time as there was an “electrical issue” with his Renault engine which is keeping him stranded in the pits. He managed just two laps and did not set a time.

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:41.856 19 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.137 +0.281 20 laps
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:42.185 +0.329 19 laps
4 Sergio Perez Force India 1:42.448 +0.592 17 laps
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:42.627 +0.771 18 laps
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:42.726 +0.870 15 laps
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:42.859 +1.003 18 laps
8 Felipe Massa Williams 1:43.173 +1.317    23 laps
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:43.239 +1.383 19 laps
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:43.429 +1.573 21 laps
11 Jenson Button McLaren 1:43.508 +1.652 15 laps
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:43.680 +1.824 18 laps
13 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:43.718 +1.862 23 laps
14 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:43.826 +1.970 18 laps
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:43.928 +2.072 21 laps
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:44.014 +2.158 13 laps
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:44.325 +2.469 20 laps
18 Will Stevens    Manor 1:47.283 +5.427 16 laps
19 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:47.520 +5.664 16 laps
20 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull No time 2 laps