FP3: Vettel quickest in rain-marred practice


Sebastian Vettel set the pace in the final practice for the British GP, however, laps were irrelevant given the inclement weather.

It was a cold and wet start to the morning’s final practice with the overnight rainfall stopping just an hour before FP3 began.

Getting underway on a drying track, the conditions were not wet enough for intermediates nor dry enough for slicks. However, more rainfall meant inters became the choice tyre.

Jean-Eric Vergne, Kevin Magnussen and Daniel Ricciardo all briefly led the session before Vettel took over at the front.

Clocking a 1:52.522 before yet more rain came, the Red Bull racer claimed the P1 slot ahead of his team-mate by 0.109s.

Pastor Maldonado finished third in his Lotus while team-mate Romain Grosjean, despite crossing the line with his car sidewards, was fourth quickest. They were 0.5 and 1.0s down on the reigning World Champion.

Adrian Sutil put in a late lap to take fifth place, 1.063s off the pace, while Daniil Kvyat was sixth in his Toro Rosso.

The McLarens of Magnussen and his team-mate Jenson Button were next in line with Valtteri Bottas and Kimi Raikkonen completing the top ten.

Raikkonen was the only Ferrari to set a time as Fernando Alonso, despite putting in four laps, never actually completed one. Neither did the Mercedes duo of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton.

Surprisingly only one driver crashed out of the session and that was Jules Bianchi.

His practice ended in the barrier at Stowe when he came in too hot on a wet track and went off. A trip through the gravel ended with his Marussia’s nose in the barrier.

His team-mate Max Chilton didn’t set a time on Saturday as a gearbox problem meant he was stuck in the pits after just one installation lap.

01 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:52.522 6 laps
02 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:52.631 +0.109 6 laps
03 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:53.044 +0.522 10 laps
04 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:53.566 +1.044 6 laps
05 Adrian Sutil Sauber 1:53.585 +1.063 12 laps
06 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:53.654 +1.132 15 laps
07 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:53.911 +1.389 5 laps
08 Jenson Button McLaren 1:54.041 +1.519 6 laps
09 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:54.217 +1.695 4 laps
10 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:54.558 +2.036 5 laps
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:54.602 +2.080 6 laps
12 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:54.761 +2.239 13 laps
13 Felipe Massa Williams 1:55.003 +2.481 4 laps
14 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:55.688 +3.166 6 laps
15 Sergio Perez Force India 1:56.918 +4.396 7 laps
16 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:57.091 +4.569 10 laps
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:57.566 +5.044 6 laps
18 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1:57.914 +5.392 10 laps
19 Max Chilton Marussia No time 1 laps
20 Fernando Alonso Ferrari No time 4 laps
21 Nico Rosberg Mercedes No time 4 laps
22 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes No time 5 lap