FP1: Hamilton puts drama to one side to take P1


Lewis Hamilton put his off-track antics behind him at Interlagos on Friday as he was the fastest man in FP1.

It has been an interesting couple of weeks for Hamilton with the triple World Champion admitting he has worked and partied non-stop since the Mexican Grand Prix and he was forced to delay his departure to Brazil on medical advice.

After arriving in Sao Paulo he then revealed he was involved in a minor crash in Monaco, but no one was hurt while he also conceded the “heavy partying” has taken its toll.

However, he put all that to one side once the light went green for Free Practice 1 for the Brazilian GP as he was fastest ahead of Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg in the first 30 minutes with a 1:14.451.

After they all switched to new medium tyres, Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari briefly went faster before he was replaced by Rosberg, but Hamilton took over at the top once he managed to get a clean lap together.

His time of 1:13.543 was half a second faster than that of Rosberg with Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, who is running the new-specification Renault engine, and Kimi Raikkonen completing the top five.

Raikkonen had a big spin just before the end of the session after going off at Turn 4 and bounced his way through the gravel, but no serious harm was done to his SF15-T.

Daniil Kvyat, Max Verstappen, Valtteri Bottas, Nico Hulkenberg and Pastor Maldonado completed the top 10.

Several drivers reported low grip and it let to quite a few of them sliding all over the place with Hamilton, Vettel, Felipe Massa, Max Verstappen all having their moments, but they all kept it out of the barriers.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:13.543 28 laps
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:14.062 +0.519 36 laps
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:14.168 +0.625 27 laps
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:14.449 +0.906 27 laps
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:14.549 +1.006 20 laps
6 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:14.696 +1.153 25 laps
7 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:14.886 +1.343 25 laps
8 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:14.960 +1.417 38 laps
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:15.174 +1.631 33
10 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:15.192 +1.649 31 laps
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:15.314 +1.771 38 laps
12 Jolyon Palmer Lotus 1:15.352 +1.809 33 laps
13 Jenson Button McLaren 1:15.379 +1.836 28 laps
14 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:15.381 +1.838 29 laps
15 Sergio Perez Force India 1:15.408 +1.865 32 laps
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:15.413 +1.870 29 laps
17 Felipe Massa Williams 1:15.469 +1.926 24 laps
18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:15.798 +2.255 34 laps
19 Alexander Rossi Manor 1:17.860 +4.317 23 laps
20 Will Stevens Manor 1:18.090 +4.547 22 laps