Hamilton retains P10 on Sochi grid


Lewis Hamilton will start Sunday's Russian Grand Prix from tenth on the grid as Mercedes have reverted to his Melbourne engine while flying in spare parts.

Hamilton suffered a power unit issue in qualifying the Sochi circuit and as such was unable to take part in the final segment.

He finished Saturday's running P10.

There were concerns that he would drop further down the grid as penalties were issued, however, Mercedes have managed to avoid that.

The team fitted Hamiton's Australian GP engine whilst changing the turbocharger, MGU-H, electronics and energy store as permitted within the season's allocation.

The task, though, was made more difficult as Mercedes are running a new fuel system this weekend.

The team had to make use of a chartered jet, which arrived in the early hours of Sunday morning, after which there was a great deal of work for his mechanics.

"The complication was in ensuring that we replaced with parts of the same specification, as we introduced an upgrade here for all eight Power Units, but did not have spare components on site," Mercedes revealed.

"So we had to fly out a fuel system on a chartered jet yesterday evening, arriving here in the early hours, and the spare engine was then kitted with these parts during the night (the spare engine is not covered by Parc Ferme rules).

"When the car came out of Parc Ferme this morning, the spare Power Unit was fitted and has now fired up successfully in the garage."

The Revised Grid
01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
02 Valtteri Bottas Williams
03 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
04 Felipe Massa Williams
05 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
06 Sergio Perez Force India
07 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari *
08 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
09 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
10 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes      
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
12 Jenson Button McLaren
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force Indi 
14 Fernando Alonso McLaren
15 Romain Grosjean Haas
16 Esteban Gutierrez Haas
17 Kevin Magnussen Renault
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault      
19 Felipe Nasr Sauber
20 Pascal Wehrlein Manor
21 Rio Haryanto Manor
22 Marcus Ericsson Sauber

* gearbox change penalty