Max joins penalty list, revised grid


On top of his 30-place grid penalty for changing parts of his engine, Max Verstappen will also have a drive-through in Sunday's Italian GP for an unsafe release in Q1.

Verstappen went out for just one lap in qualifying at Monza but it proved to be an eventful one as his STR10, which had just had work done on it, lost its engine cover out on track.

The stewards deemed that to be an "unsafe release" on Toro Rosso's part and the Dutchman will therefore take a drive-through penalty on top of his grid drop.

But he's not the only driver to drop on the grid.

Marcus Ericsson is down three places for impeding Nico Hulkenberg; Jenson Button has a five-place penalty for an engine change while Fernando Alonso has ten places for the same infringement.

Carlos Sainz and Daniil Kvyat both have 30-place penalties for engine changes while Daniel Ricciardo's is a 50-place drop.

Revised Monza Grid
01 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
02 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
03 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
04 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
05 Felipe Massa Williams
06 Valtteri Bottas Williams
07 Sergio Perez Force India
08 Romain Grosjean Lotus
09 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
10 Pastor Maldonado Lotus
11 Felipe Nasr Sauber
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber *
13 Will Stevens Marussia
14 Roberto Merhi Marussia
15 Jenson Button McLaren *
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren *
17 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso *
18 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull *
19 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull *
20 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso *

* penalised drivers