Merc celebrate ‘dream’ back-to-back titles


Mercedes have joined an elite list of constructors to have won back-to-back titles, much to the delight of Paddy Lowe and Toto Wolff.

Having won the Constructors' crown for the first time in their history in 2014, the Brackley-based squad defended their title this year with their success confirmed at the Russian GP over the weekend.

The joined the legendary Cooper, Ferrari, Lotus, Brabham, McLaren, Williams, Renault and Red Bull squads as the only outfits to have won consecutive titles.

"To celebrate back-to-back World Championships is something that most of us can only dream of," technical director Lowe said during the team's celebrations on Tuesday.

"In this business, it's not enough simply to work hard – you have to work smart, too. It doesn't happen overnight, or in a couple of years, but has been built up over a great deal of time thanks to the commitment from Mercedes-Benz.

"And it's a result of the integration of effort and intellect between the teams in Brixworth and Brackley, to deliver the best Power Unit in the best racing car on the grid. Everybody had the same opportunity to perform under the regulations – and each of you has earned the right to celebrate today."

Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg have won 12 of the 15 races to date this campaign to lead the team to the title.

"I would also like to thank Nico and Lewis for their great skill and also their great professionalism out on track every day," Lowe added.

"It's so easy to take for granted but we are privileged to work with two of the very best. Let's celebrate the moment – and then get back to work to make sure we can win again."

Meanwhile, Mercedes motorsport boss Wolff says they can't rest on their laurels.

"If we want to call ourselves Champions again, we will have to work even harder and even better for 2016," he said. "For 2015 we can say we were the best in the world. But none of us is complacent enough to think this earns us anything for the future."