Nine out of 10 for imperious Hamilton


Lewis Hamilton made it nine out of 10 in terms of qualifying this season as he got the better of Nico Rosberg in Hungary while Ferrari won the battle of the best of the rest.

The only time the reigning World Champion hasn't started in pole position this season was in Spain when Rosberg was P1, but Hamilton has looked in control all weekend as he was fastest in the three practice sessions and in Q1 and Q2.

He made it a clean sweep with a time of 1:22.020, beating Rosberg by 0.575 with Sebastian Vettel third, just shading the Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo and Kimi Raikkonen in the second Ferrari.

Valtteri Bottas was the fastest Williams in sixth place with Daniil Kvyat, Felipe Massa, Max Verstappen and Romain Grosjean completing the top 10.

Earlier, most drivers did exploratory laps on the medium tyres in Q1 with the exception of the Manor, who were on the softs straightaway. However, the rest of the grid soon joined them on the yellow-branded rubber and the times dropped quickly.

Bottas first set the marker, but Rosberg went faster before Hamilton took over at the top with a last-gasp effort of 1:22.890.

It was a mixed Q1 session for McLaren with Alonso 14th fastest, but Jenson Button missed out after his MP4-30 failed to "get deployment down the pit straight" and he ended up P16.

The Saubers of Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr as well as Manor's Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens joined Button on the sidelines.

McLaren's fortunes then turned red a few minutes into Q2 as Alonso's car broke down a few metres before the pitlane entry due to an electrical problem. The session was red-flagged and, much to the delight of the fans, Alonso helped to push his car back to the garage. Who says F1 drivers are lazy?

Force India's restricted running during practice also came back to haunt them as both Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez failed to make into Q3 along with Carlos Sainz and Pastor Maldonado.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:22.020
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:22.595 0.575
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:22.739 0.719
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:22.774 0.754
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:23.020 1.000
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:23.222 1.202
7 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:23.332 1.312
8 Felipe Massa Williams 1:23.537 1.517
9 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:23.679 1.659
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:24.181 2.161
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:23.826
12 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:23.869
13 Sergio Perez Force India 1:24.461
14 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:24.609
15 Fernando Alonso McLaren no time
16 Jenson Button McLaren 1:24.739
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:24.843
18 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:24.997
19 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:27.416
20 Will Stevens Manor 1:27.949