No sanctions for Button

Date published: June 13 2011

Jenson Button will keep his Canadian GP victory after the race stewards ruled that he was not responsible for the shunt with Fernando Alonso…

Jenson Button will keep his Canadian GP victory after the race stewards ruled that he was not responsible for the shunt with Fernando Alonso.

Button was fighting the Ferrari driver for position when on lap 44 he made his move.

However, Alonso was having none of it and closed the door on the McLaren driver.

The duo touched with Alonso being put into a spin and out of the grand prix.

The stewards almost immediately announced that the incident would be investigated but have now confirmed that neither Button nor Alonso will be penalised for the accident.

The Brit was also cleared of any wrongdoing in the accident that took out his team-mate Lewis Hamilton on lap 8.

As a result, Button gets to hold onto his Canadian GP victory.