No Turkish GP on ratified 2012 calendar


The FIA has confirmed a 20-race calendar for the 2012 Formula One with the Turkish Grand Prix falling away.

The Turkish GP at Istanbul Park Circuit, which has always been very popular with drivers, has been part of the F1 calendar since 2005 but the future of the race was thrown into doubt earlier this year when local organisers voiced their unhappiness over the high hosting fees.

Turkey was included in the provisional 2012 calendar subject to confirmation, but then left off the updated schedule in early August. Its axing was made official on Wednesday evening when the FIA confirmed that “a fax vote by its members, the World Motor Sport Council has ratified, by unanimous decision” the new calendar.

The Bahrain GP, which was cancelled earlier this year due to unrest in the country, returns and will take place on April 22.

2012 F1 calendar
18 March – Australia
25 March – Malaysia
15 April – China
22 April – Bahrain
13 May – Spain
27 May – Monaco
10 June – Canada
24 June – Europe
08 July – Great Britain
22 July – Germany
29 July – Hungary
02 September – Belgium
09 September – Italy
23 September – Singapore
07 October – Japan
14 October – Korea
28 October – India
04 November – Abu Dhabi
18 November – United States
25 November – Brazil