Penalties aplenty at Sochi


There are several changes to the Russian GP grid with three gearbox change penalties and one carry over engine change drop.

Nico Hulkenberg, Max Chilton and Kevin Magnussen all lost places on the grid when their cars needed new gearboxes.

An automatic five-place drop, Magnussen will start P11, Hulkenberg P17 and Chilton P21.

The final change belongs to Pastor Maldonado who last time out in Japan was hit with a 10-place engine change penalty.

However, as he could not drop all 10 places, some have been carried over to this weekend.

The Grid
01 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
02 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
03 Valtteri Bottas Williams
04 Jenson Button McLaren
05 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso
06 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing
07 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
08 Kimi R