Qualy: Fourth Canadian pole for Hamilton


Lewis Hamilton is back on pole at the Canadian Grand Prix, bringing his tally up to four at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve and six for this season.

Hamilton took the early advantage under clear blue skies in Q3, posting a 1:14.393 on the supersoft Pirellis.

Nico Rosberg, despite being just 0.012s down in Q2, was a full three-tenths off the pace while Kimi Raikkonen lined up third.

Venturing out for a second run Hamilton was ahead of Rosberg out on track but ran it a bit too deep at Turn 1 while his German team-mate complained of no grip on the rear tyres.

Hamilton put in a flier but, despite a purple time in the middle sector, was not able to improve on his benchmark time. However, neither was Rosberg who had to settle for second.

Raikkonen held onto third place, marginally quicker than his previous best, 0.621s down, while Valtteri Bottas was fourth for Williams.

It was a great qualifying for Lotus with Romain Grosjean P5 ahead of Pastor Maldonado while Nico Hulkenberg also had reason to celebrate as he finished seventh.

Daniil Kvyat, Daniel Ricciardo and Sergio Perez completed the top ten.

Qualifying began a driver short as Jenson Button's McLaren suffered an ERS failure during FP3 which meant a new engine was required and he was sidelined.

As such just four drivers dropped out in Q1; Sebastian Vettel, Felipe Massa, Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens.

Both Vettel and Massa had car troubles with a "problem with the MGU-H" for the Ferrari driver and "no power, no power" for Massa in his Williams.

In the second part of qualifying Carlos Sainz, the penalised Max Verstappen, Marcus Ericsson, Fernando Alonso and Felipe Nasr dropped out. Verstappen's P12 means he will incur a time penalty as he cannot drop the full 15 grid slots he has been penalised.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.393
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:14.702 0.309
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:15.014 0.621
4 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:15.102 0.709
5 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:15.194 0.801
6 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:15.329 0.9367
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:15.614 1.221
8 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:16.079 1.686
9 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:16.114 1.721
10 Sergio Perez Force India 1:16.338 1.945
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:16.042
12 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:16.245
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:16.262
14 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:16.276
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:16.620
16 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:17.344
17 Felipe Massa Williams 1:17.886
18 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:19.133
19 Will Stevens Manor 1:19.157
20 Jenson Button McLaren Did not compete