Qualy: Hamilton storms to pole, Vettel P4


Lewis Hamilton moved clear of Ayrton Senna with his 66th career pole position as he crushed his rivals in Baku.

The Brit posted a 1:40.593 with his final hot lap, four tenths quicker than team-mate Valtteri Bottas who ensured that Mercedes would lock-out the front row.

Kimi Raikkonen completed the top three and out-qualified World Championship leader Sebastian Vettel in P4 as both Ferraris struggled for pace throughout.

Max Verstappen clinched P5, but team-mate Daniel Ricciardo is down in P10 as a small crash at Turn 6 prompted Q3 to be red-flagged with 3:33 remaining and putting extra pressure on the final runs as a result.

Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon finished P6 and P7 respectively, while Lance Stroll, in P8, out-qualified Felipe Massa in P9.

For the second consecutive race, both Toro Rossos failed to make it into Q3 with Daniil Kvyat starting P11 and Carlos Sainz moving from P12 to P15 after his three-place grid penalty is enforced for causing a collision in Canada.

Electrical issues brought Nico Hulkenberg’s qualifying to an abrupt end and left him languishing in P14.

Fernando Alonso qualified in P16 and Stoffel Vandoorne finished P19, but both McLaren-Honda drivers will start at the very back of the grid due to respective 40-place and 35-place engine and gearbox penalties acquired over the weekend.

Romain Grosjean, P17, and Marcus Ericsson, P18, were also eliminated in Q1.

Jolyon Palmer, who is desperate need of a good performance, was unable to take part in qualifying as the fire in his car in FP3 left his mechanics with too much work to do to get the Brit back out on track in time.


1    HAM    Mercedes    1:40.593
2    BOT    Mercedes   1:41.027
3    RAI    Ferrari  1:41.693
4    VET    Ferrari    1:41.841
5    VPN    Red Bull    1:41.879
6    PER    Force India    1:42.111
7    OCO    Force India    1:42.186
8    STR    Williams    1:42.753
9    MAS    Williams    1:42.798
10    RIC    Red Bull    1:43.414
11    KVY    Toro Rosso    1:43.186
12    SAI    Toro Rosso   1:43.347
13    MAG    Haas F1    1:43.796
14    HUL    Renault   1:44.267
15    WEH    Sauber    1:44.603
16    ALO    McLaren   1:44.334
17    GRO    Haas F1    1:44.468
18    ERI    Sauber    1:44.795
19    VAN    McLaren    1:45.030
20    PAL    Renault    No time