Qualy: Hamilton’s pole run continues


Lewis Hamilton continued his impressive form in qualifying and he secured his fourth pole in as many races, beating Sebastian Vettel in Bahrain.

Hitting the front in Saturday's final practice, Hamilton went into qualifying as the one to beat.

The Brit continued that form, easily outpacing his rivals as he clocked a 1:32.571.

His team-mate Nico Rosberg, his most likely challenger, fell short and then fell even further back as he dropped to third, losing out to the Ferrari of Vettel.

The German will start from the front row of the grid as his 1:32.982 was 0.411s off the pace.

Kimi Raikkonen joins Rosberg on the second row as the Finn was fourth quickest ahead of the Williams pairing of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa.

Daniel Ricciardo was seventh while Nico Hulkenberg surprised as he not only progressed to Q3 but qualified in eighth place.

Carlos Sainz and Romain Grosjean completed the top ten.

Fernando Alonso delivered McLaren's best qualifying of the season as he progressed to Q2, the first time a McLaren driver managed that this year. He finished P14.

The other side of the garage, though, did not have such luck.

There was more disappointment for Jenson Button as his MP4-30 suffered its third stoppage of the weekend.

Grinding to a halt on his first lap out of the pits, Button's qualifying ended at Turn 3 and without a time on the board.

He will line-up at the very back of the Bahrain grid.

There was also disappointment over at Red Bull Racing as Daniil Kvyat dropped out in Q1 with the Russian down in 17th place.

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:32.571
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:32.982 0.411
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:33.129 0.558
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:33.227 0.656
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:33.381 0.810
6 Felipe Massa Williams    1:33.744 1.173
7 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:33.832 1.261
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:34.450 1.879
9 Carlos Sainz Torro Rosso 1:34.462 1.891
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:34.484 1.913
11 Sergio Perez Force India 1:34.704
12 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:34.737
13 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:35.034
14 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:35.039
15 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1:35.103
16 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:35.677
17 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull 1:35.800
18 Will Stevens Manor 1:38.713
19 Roberto Merhi Manor 1:39.722
20 Jenson Button McLaren No time