Qualy: Massa leads Williams lock-out


After weeks of waiting, Williams finally realised some of their pre-season potential when Felipe Massa claimed pole position for the Austrian GP.

Although most in the paddock expected another Mercedes front row after the Brackley squad led the way in Friday’s practice, it was Williams who came to the fore on Saturday.

Valtteri Bottas set the pace in final practice, however, it was Massa who found the speed when it mattered most.

The Brazilian driver posted a 1:08.759 to secure his first pole position since 2008. It was Williams’ first since the 2012 Spanish Grand Prix.

Adding to the team’s joy, Bottas brought his FW36 home in second place, 0.087s behind his team-mate.

The Williams drivers denied Nico Rosberg, who had to settle for third place, while a mistake from Lewis Hamilton meant he finished Q3 without a time to his name. He will start ninth on the grid.

Fernando Alonso made minor inroads as he qualified in fourth place ahead of Daniel Ricciardo, Kevin Magnussen and Daniil Kvyat.

Meanwhile, Sebastian Vettel’s demise in Q2 was the biggest shock of qualifying.

The reigning World Champion lacked the pace needed to make it in the final segment, qualifying down in 13th place.

He was one position behind McLaren’s Jenson Button, whose car troubles in final practice meant he went into qualifying lacking track-time.

With the stewards warning ahead of qualifying that there would be “zero tolerance” for those cutting corner, several drivers had their lap times disallowed.

There was, however, no controversy over the situation as it was done immediately, no stewards hearings needed for a change.

01 Felipe Massa Williams 1:08.759
02 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:08.846 +0.087
03 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:08.944 +0.185
04 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:09.285 +0.526
05 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:09.466 +0.707
06 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:09.515 +0.756
07 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:09.619 +0.860
08 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:10.795 +2.036
09 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes No time
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India No time
11 Sergio Perez Force India 1:09.754
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:09.780
13 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:09.801
14 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:09.939
15 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:10.073
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:10.642
17 Adrian Sutil Sauber 1:10.825
18 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:11.349
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:11.412
20 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1:11.67
21 Max Chilton Marussia 1:11.775
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:12.560

Related Links
Qualy Day At The Red Bull Ring