Qualy: Perfect 10 For Rosberg


Nico Rosberg clinched this year’s pole position trophy when he edged Lewis Hamilton by setting a new pole position record time at Interlagos.

As the personal battle between the Mercedes team-mates reached fever pitch at the Interlagos circuit on Saturday, it was all Rosberg.

The German, who topped all three practice sessions, had a response to anything Hamilton threw at him including a late dash.

But, demonstrating incredible one-lap pace, Rosberg crossed the line with a 1:10.023 to beat Hamilton to pole by 0.033s.

The duo, though, did not have it all their own way as the Williams of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas were right up there.

Massa finished third, 0.081s down, while Bottas was fourth and will be ruing a small lock-up on his first hot lap that cost him valuable time.

Jenson Button brought his McLaren home in fifth place ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Kevin Magnussen while Fernando Alonso was eighth quickest. All four drivers were within a second of Rosberg’s P1 time.

Daniel Ricciardo was unable to carry his Friday pace through to qualifying and finished P9 ahead of Kimi Raikkonen.

After last Saturday’s breakthrough, Lotus again plummetted to the back of the field.

Neither Romain Grosjean nor Pastor Maldonado made it out of Q1, P15 and P18 respectively, where they were split by Jean-Eric Vergne and Sergio Perez.

They will, however, move forward as Daniil Kvyat, who did not set a time in Q2 and finished P14, has an engine change penalty.

Also out in Q2 were Esteban Gutierrez, Nico Hulkenberg and Adrian Sutil.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:10.023
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:10.056 +0.033
03 Felipe Massa Williams 1:10.247 +0.244
04 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:10.305 +0.282
05 Jenson Button McLaren 1:10.930 +0.907
06 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:10.938 +0.915
07 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:10.969 +0.946
08 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:10.977 +0.954
09 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:11.075 +1.052
10 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:11.099 +1.076
11 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:11.591
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:11.976
13 Adrian Sutil Sauber No time
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso No time
15 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:12.037
16 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:12.040
17 Sergio Perez Force India 1:12.076
18 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:12.233

Related Link
Qualifying Day At Interlagos