Qualy: Rosberg Beats Hamilton To Pole


On a track where Lewis Hamilton was widely expected to have the advantage, Nico Rosberg took pole position from his team-mate by 0.079s.

With Hamilton having won the Canadian Grand Prix three times and Rosberg yet to reach the podium, many expected the British driver would have the advantage in the Mercedes battle.

However, instead it was Rosberg.

The German crossed the line with a 1:14.874 on a hot sunny Saturday at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve to claim the coveted grid slot.

Hamilton, despite his best efforts, fell short by 0.079s.

Sebastian Vettel showed an impressive turn of pace as he put his Red Bull up into third place, 0.674s, and ahead of the Williams pairing.

Valtteri Bottas was fifth quickest on Saturday ahead of Felipe Massa and Daniel Ricciardo.

Fernando Alonso was the leading Ferrari in seventh place and will be joined on the fourth row of the grid by Toro Rosso’s Jean-Eric Vergne.

Meanwhile, Marcus Ericsson will take the final place on the grid after the Caterham driver crashed into the wall at the exit of Turn 9 bringing out the red flag in Q1. But with just 16s left on the clock the session was called.

Qualifying began one driver short as Esteban Gutierrez was left needing a new chassis after damaging his C33 when he hit the wall in final practice. He will start the race from the pit lane.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:14.874
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.953 +0.079
03 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:15.548 +0.674
04 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:15.550 +0.676
05 Felipe Massa Williams 1:15.578 +0.704
06 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:15.589 +0.715
07 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:15.814 +0.940
08 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:16.162 +1.288
09 Jenson Button McLaren 1:16.182 +1.308
10 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:16.214 +1.340
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:16.300
12 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:16.310
13 Sergio Perez Force India 1:16.472
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:16.687
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:16.713
16 Adrian Sutil Sauber 1:17.314
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:18.328
18 Max Chilton Marussia 1:18.348
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:18.359
20 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1:19.278
21 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:19.820
22 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber No time

Related Links
Qualifying Day In Montreal