Qualy: Rosberg Ends Hamilton’s Pole Run


Nico Rosberg added his name to the list of double pole winners at Bahrain as he pipped team-mate Lewis Hamilton to the coveted grid slot.

On a day when Mercedes went completely unchallenged by their rivals, it was up to Rosberg and Hamilton to spice up the show. And that’s exactly what they did.

Although it was Hamilton who set the pace in the earlier practices, the Brit was beaten in qualifying by his team-mate.

Rosberg clocked a 1:33.185 to hold the advantage over his team-mate ahead of their second and final runs. But with Hamilton making a mistake in his, Rosberg headed back into the pits, secure in the pole position slot.

Hamilton finished up 0.279s down while Daniel Ricciardo qualified in third place. The Red Bull racer, though, will drop to 13th as he has a ten-place penalty from the previous outing in Malaysia.

Valtteri Bottas was fourth quickest for Williams ahead of Sergio Perez and Kimi Raikkonen.

It was another disappointing day out on track for Sebastian Vettel as the Red Bull racer was having troubles on the “down shift”. As such he could only manage a 1:34.985, which meant he dropped out in Q2 in 11th place.

He wasn’t the only one struggling though.

The Lotus drivers were again in trouble with Romain Grosjean only just making it into Q2 while Pastor Maldonado again failed. They will line up 16th and 17th on the grid although the stewards will investigate an incident between Grosjean and Adrian Sutil after qualifying.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:33.185
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:33.464 0.279
03 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:34.051 0.866
04 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:34.247 1.062
05 Sergio Perez Force India 1:34.346 1.161
06 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:34.368 1.183
07 Jenson Button McLaren 1:34.387 1.202
08 Felipe Massa Williams 1:34.511 1.326
09 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:34.712 1.527
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:34.992 1.807
11 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:34.985
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:35.116
13 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:35.145
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:35.286
15 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:35.891
16 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:35.908
17 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:36.663
18 Adrian Sutil Sauber 1:36.840
19 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1:37.085
20 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:37.310
21 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:37.875
22 Max Chilton Marussia 1:37.913