Qualy: Rosberg on pole ahead of Verstappen


As many expected, Nico Rosberg secured pole position for the Belgian Grand Prix while crowd favourite Max Verstappen will join him on the front row.

On an afternoon when Lewis Hamilton was out of contention given his 55-place grid penalty, it was left to Rosberg to fly the Mercedes flag.

The German did just that, posting a 1:46.744 to claim pole position.

The crowd, though, was firmly behind the driver who finished second, Verstappen.

The Dutchman, who was born 50 miles from the Spa-Francorchamps circuit, clocked a 1:46.893 to become the youngest driver to line up on the front row of an F1 grid.

Kimi Raikkonen was third ahead of Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo and Sergio Perez.

Interestingly, a mix of tyre strategies came into play as Rosberg, Raikkonen, Vettel and Ricciardo all using the soft tyres in Q2. They will therefore start the 44-lap grand prix on that rubber.

Nico Hulkenberg, Valtteri Bottas, Jenson Button and Felipe Massa completed the top ten.

Track limits were in effect with Felipe Nasr and Kevin Magnussen both having times deleted in Q1 as they put all four wheels over the white line at Turn 4.

They had to venture out for a late run with Nasr qualifying P17 while Magnussen progressed to Q2. He finished 12th as Renault got both drivers into Q2 for only the second time this season.

1 Rosberg Mercedes 1:46.744
2 Verstappen Red Bull 1:46.893 0.149
3 Raikkonen Ferrari 1:46.910 0.166
4 Vettel Ferrari 1:47.108 0.364
5 Ricciardo Red Bull 1:47.216 0.472
6 Perez Force India 1:47.407 0.663
7 Hulkenberg Force India 1:47.543 0.799
8 Bottas Williams 1:47.612 0.869
9 Button McLaren 1:48.114 1.370
10 Massa Williams 1:48.263 1.519
11 Grosjean Haas 1:48.316
12 Magnussen Renault 1:48.485
13 Gutierrez Haas 1:48.598
14 Palmer Renault 1:48.888
15 Sainz Toro Rosso 1:49.038
16 Wehrlein Manor 1:49.320
17 Nasr Sauber 1:48.949
18 Ocon Manor 1:49.050
19 Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:49.058
20 Ericsson Sauber 1:49.071
21 Hamilton Mercedes 1:50.033
22 Alonso McLaren no time