Qualy: Rosberg Secures Pole With Mistake

Date published: May 24 2014 - Editor

Nico Rosberg has claimed back-to-back Monaco pole positions despite a slip up meaning he finished qualifying down an escape road.

Rosberg gained a minute 0.059s advantage over his team-mate Lewis Hamilton in their first run in Q3 on Saturday afternoon.

Venturing out for a second run, the German overshot it at Mirabeau and was forced to take to the escape road.

His mistake brought out the yellow flags which meant that Hamilton, his only genuine challenger, had to back off on his lap.

As a result, Rosberg secured his sixth career pole position with a 1:15.989.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in third place, 0.395s down, while Sebastian Vettel put his RB10 up onto fourth place on the grid.

The Red Bulls will start ahead of the two Ferraris with Fernando Alonso once again P5 ahead of Kimi Raikkonen.

Jean-Eric Vergne and Kevin Magnussen will make up the fourth row of the grid ahead of Daniil Kvyat and Sergio Perez.

Other than Rosberg’s moments there were only two other incidents of note as Kvyat, making his Monaco debut, tagged the barrier on the way down to the chicane in Q1 and needed a new nose for his Toro Rosso while Marcus Ericsson drove into Felipe Massa at Mirabeau.

That collision as well as a potential impeding incidents between Sergio Perez and Esteban Gutierrez as well as Pastor Maldonado and Daniil Kvyat will be investigated.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:15.989
02 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:16.048 +0.059
03 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:16.384 +0.395
04 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:16.547 +0.558
05 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:16.686 +0.697
06 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:17.389 +1.400
07 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:17.540 +1.551
08 Kevin Magnussen McLaren 1:17.555 +1.566
09 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:18.090 +2.101
10 Sergio Perez Force India 1:18.327 +2.338
11 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:17.846
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:17.988
13 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:18.082
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:18.196
15 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:18.356
16 Felipe Massa Williams No time
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:18.741
18 Adrian Sutil Sauber 1:18.745
19 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:19.332
20 Max Chilton Marussia 1:19.928
21 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham 1:20.133
22 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:21.732

Related Links
Saturday’s Gallery From Monaco