Revised Austrian GP grid


With penalties aplenty – especially at McLaren – the Austrian GP grid looks rather different to the timesheet after qualifying.

While Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will be starting on the front row of the grid, others have fallen right to the back.

Daniil Kvyat has a 10-place grid penalty for taking his fifth Renault engines of the year and will start P14.

His team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, who was handed the same penalty but was not able to take the full 10-place drop, will start P18 and take an additional five-second time penalty.

As for the McLarens, Fernando Alonso will start the race 19th on the grid with Jenson Button P20.

Alonso, though, must also serve a drive-through penalty in the first three laps of the grand prix while Button has to take a 10-second stop-go penalty.

Revised Grid
1  Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2  Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3  Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4  Felipe Massa Williams
5  Nico Hulkenberg Force India
6  Valtteri Bottas Williams
7  Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
8  Felipe Nasr Sauber
9  Romain Grosjean Lotus
10  Pastor Maldonado Lotus
11  Marcus Ericsson Sauber
12  Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso
13  Sergio Perez Force India
14  Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
15  Daniil Kvyat Red Bull *
16  Roberto Merhi Marussia
17  Will Stevens Marussia
18  Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull *
19  Fernando Alonso McLaren **
20  Jenson Button McLaren ***

* 10-place engine change penalty
** 20-place engine change and 5-place gearbox penalty
*** 25-place engine change penalty